Faith Full

The faith of my forefathers is a faith of their own.

Religion is one of those sensitive issues that usually are not discussed, either due to a written or unwritten decree, in the workplace. This is a good idea especially in the multicultural, multiethnic and multi-religious workplace of today.

However, as with all working persons, we have a corporate existence and a private life outside working hours. The need to have a work-life balance is now widely recognized and encouraged by most employers. So it is in the role of my private avatar, and not in my corporate persona, that I address the issue of my faith.

Religion plays a very personal and pivotal role in my family, as in most families. I approach the topic of religion with years of focused familiarity and fervent faith. Religion is an intrinsic facet of daily existence, extending beyond a cyclical visit to a house of worship. Belief, in conjunction with yoga and meditation, works wonders for my powers of concentration, memory, determination and well-being. It has helped me to endure through years of stress when I had to deal with special interest politics in the workplace and my integrity and professionalism were attacked through rumor and innuendo, due to my views and support for political issues outside work.

My faith has enabled me to weather all my personal storms which were after all essentially minor and meaningless tempests in a teapot.

What does my religion mean to me?

My faith provides me with sustenance and comfort when I am confronted by ignorance and cynicism.

My faith reassures me with confidence and righteousness when faced with denigration and defamation.

My faith helps me to focus on what is important – my family and values – and it is my shield of sanity when faced with lunatic rumors and falsehoods.

My faith gives me a purpose-filled drive when I am in the midst of inanity and aimlessness.

My faith is my anchor of calm in a tempestuous ocean and it is my idyllic oasis in a barren desert.

My faith helps me to stay grounded during times of upheaval and it uplifts me to great heights during times of despair.

My faith is based on the wisdom of millennia past yet finds greater resonance and relevance with every passing day.

My faith is a joyful festival of sound, aroma and light – a holistic feast in every sense.

My faith is a silent and serene transcendence of the consciousness.

The faith of my forefathers is the faith of my own.

(www.embar.net – for additional articles)

Leave a Reply

